Thursday, March 16, 2017

Week 2 Answers

Hello again!  Welcome back for for the answers to Week 2's questions! 

Easy:  Abby controls a 1/1 thopter token and no other artifacts. Nevin targets the thopter token with with Release the Gremlins (X=1). In response to Nevin’s Release the Gremlins, Abby casts Unlicensed Disintegration on her thopter token. Does Nevin create a gremlin token? How much damage does Abby take?  (credit:  Jarrod Feight)

Answer: Since Release the Gremlins no longer has any legal targets, it will be countered upon resolution. Therefore Nevin will not create any gremlin tokens. 

When Abby resolves Unlicensed Disintegration, she will not take any damage. Since we resolve spells in the order written, Unlicensed Disintegration will first destroy the thopter token, Abby will no longer control an artifact to fulfill the "if you control an artifact" clause, and Unlicensed Disintegration will not deal any damage to Abby. 




Hard:  Allie casts Sram's Expertise, and would like to use the second part of Sram's Expertise to cast Collective Effort.  Can Allie escalate Collective Effort, and if so, can she tap the tokens from Sram's Expertise to do so?  (Credit:  Eric Dustin Brown)

Answer: Allie will be able to use the tokens created by Sram's Expertise to escalate Collective Effort. Since escalate is an additional cost, Allie can pay for escalate even though she is using an alternate cost to pay for Collective Effort. Sram's Expertise will resolve in the order written, and the three tokens will have been created by the time she casts Collective Effort. 




Corner Case:  Arnold has an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in his exile zone as well as a Yixlid Jailer and a beast token on the battlefield.  Nathan processes the Emrakul with his Wasteland Strangler, targeting the beast token.  Does Emrakul's shuffle trigger work?  (Credit:  Mitchell Wetherson) 

Answer: Emrakul's ability will not trigger when Wasteland Strangler's ability moves Emrakul from exile to the graveyard.  Some kinds of triggered abilities, such as "leaves the battlefield" abilities, look back in time in the game to determine if they trigger, meaning that they trigger from the battlefield, and not from the graveyard.  This is an exception to the normal rules of Magic, where triggers typically trigger from the zone the card goes to.  Abilities like Emrakul's, however, which trigger when a creature enters the graveyard from anywhere, are never treated as "leaves the battlefield" abilities and are not an exception.  This means that Emrakul's trigger would trigger from the graveyard, but it cannot because Yixlid Jailer says that it doesn't have the ability in the graveyard. 


No comments:

Post a Comment