Friday, March 24, 2017

Week 3 Answers!

Easy:  Abigail controls a Tarmogoyf and has a land and a sorcery in her graveyard.  Her opponent Naya has no cards in her graveyard.  Naya casts Lightning Bolt targeting Abigail's Tarmogoyf.  Does the Tarmogoyf die?

Answer:  As Lightning Bolt resolves, it deals 3 damage to the Tarmogoyf, which is a 2/3 as that happens.  As the final step in the resolution of Lightning Bolt, however, it is put in the graveyard, which immediately makes Tarmogoyf a 3/4, because Lightning Bolt is an instant, which is a new type in graveyards.  Since Tarmogoyf's power and toughness is a characteristic-defining ability, it does not use the stack to change.  It updates constantly, no matter which zone it is in.  Then, just before players would receive priority and after Lightning Bolt has already resolved and gone to the graveyard, state-based actions are checked.  At this point, Tarmogoyf is a 3/4 creature with 3 damage marked on it, and it will not die.





Hard:  Ansil activates his copy of Inkmoth Nexus and attacks Nicole. Before damage, Nicole casts Collected Company and puts Melira, Sylvok Outcast on the battlefield. If Nicole assigns no blocks, how much damage is dealt and how is it dealt? What if Ansil activates Inkmoth Nexus’ ability a second time before damage is dealt? (Credit: Jarrod Feight)

Answer: Melira has an ability that removes certain abilities from creatures, and Inkmoth Nexus has an ability that grants certain abilities to itself. To see how to apply these abilities, we have to look at layers. In particular, we are looking at the Abilities layer, as that is where both of these abilities function. Since there is no dependency, we apply effects in timestamp order. That means that first, Inkmoth Nexus gains flying and infect until end of turn, and then Melira causes Inkmoth Nexus to lose infect. Inkmoth Nexus is now a 1/1 Blinkmoth artifact creature with flying that does not have infect and will deal regular damage in combat. If Ansil activates Inkmoth Nexus' ability again before damage, it remains the same creature, so it gets to stay in combat, but we now have another new ability to apply. It is last since we are still using timestamp order, so after Inkmoth Nexus gains and then loses infect, it now gains infect (and flying) again, because Melira goes not prevent a creature from gaining infect. That means that Inkmoth Nexus will deal infect damage, which is in the form of poison counters when damaging a player. Since Melira also says that Nicole cannot get poison counters, however, the damage will do nothing. It is still dealt, but its effect has been negated by Melira's abilities.






Corner Case: Nathan controls a Burrenton Forge-Tender. Antonio casts a Goblin Guide. In response, Nathan sacrifices Burrenton Forge-Tender, choosing Antonio's Goblin Guide on the stack as the red source. When Antonio attacks with the Goblin Guide that turn, will it deal damage?

Answer: A player can choose basically any relevant permanent, object, or spell when an ability calls for a source of damage, as long as the choice fits any requirements (here, "red"). That means that Goblin Guide is a legal choice while it is on the stack. Furthermore, according to CR 609.7a, if that source is a permanent spell on the stack, the prevention effect applies to both that spell while it is on the stack and the permanent it becomes on the battlefield. Even though the Goblin Guide is a new object when it resolves, the ability of Burrenton Forge-Tender will still prevent the damage from Goblin Guide.

Week 4 Questions!


Enjoy another week of questions! I encourage you to send me more questions and/or feedback via Facebook or Judgeapps!

Easy:
Angela casts Transgress the Mind targeting Nicholas, and Nicholas reveals Walking Ballista and two basic lands. Can Angela choose Walking Ballista? Later in the game, Nicholas casts Walking Ballista for X = 3. Can Angela counter it with Horribly Awry? (credit: Jarrod Feight)





Hard: Allison and Norm each control a copy of Death's Shadow. Allison is at 6 life, and Norm is at 9. Allison attacks with her copy of Death's Shadow, and Norm blocks with his. Allison casts Temur Battle Rage on her copy of Death's Shadow. Assuming Allison would assign all possible trample damage to Norm, what is Norm’s resulting life total? (credit: Jarrod Feight)




Corner Case: Abigail controls Painter’s Servant (naming blue) and Sword of Fire and Ice. Noel casts and resolves Sudden Spoiling targeting Abigail. What happens if Abigail tries to equip Painter’s Servant with Sword of Fire and Ice? (credit: Jarrod Feight)






Thursday, March 16, 2017

Week 3 Questions!

Hello and welcome back for another week of awesome rules questions!  In honor of the release of Modern Masters 2017, we'll be focusing this week on questions you might find in Modern!

Easy:  Abigail controls a Tarmogoyf and has a land and a sorcery in her graveyard.  Her opponent Naya has no cards in her graveyard.  Naya casts Lightning Bolt targeting Abigail's Tarmogoyf.  Does the Tarmogoyf die?





Hard:  Ansil activates his copy of Inkmoth Nexus and attacks Nicole. Before damage, Nicole casts Collected Company and puts Melira, Sylvok Outcast on the battlefield. If Nicole assigns no blocks, how much damage is dealt and how is it dealt? What if Ansil activates Inkmoth Nexus’ ability a second time before damage is dealt? (Credit: Jarrod Feight)





Corner Case: Nathan controls a Burrenton Forge-Tender. Antonio casts a Goblin Guide. In response, Nathan sacrifices Burrenton Forge-Tender, choosing Antonio's Goblin Guide on the stack as the red source. When Antonio attacks with the Goblin Guide that turn, will it deal damage?



Week 2 Answers

Hello again!  Welcome back for for the answers to Week 2's questions! 

Easy:  Abby controls a 1/1 thopter token and no other artifacts. Nevin targets the thopter token with with Release the Gremlins (X=1). In response to Nevin’s Release the Gremlins, Abby casts Unlicensed Disintegration on her thopter token. Does Nevin create a gremlin token? How much damage does Abby take?  (credit:  Jarrod Feight)

Answer: Since Release the Gremlins no longer has any legal targets, it will be countered upon resolution. Therefore Nevin will not create any gremlin tokens. 

When Abby resolves Unlicensed Disintegration, she will not take any damage. Since we resolve spells in the order written, Unlicensed Disintegration will first destroy the thopter token, Abby will no longer control an artifact to fulfill the "if you control an artifact" clause, and Unlicensed Disintegration will not deal any damage to Abby. 




Hard:  Allie casts Sram's Expertise, and would like to use the second part of Sram's Expertise to cast Collective Effort.  Can Allie escalate Collective Effort, and if so, can she tap the tokens from Sram's Expertise to do so?  (Credit:  Eric Dustin Brown)

Answer: Allie will be able to use the tokens created by Sram's Expertise to escalate Collective Effort. Since escalate is an additional cost, Allie can pay for escalate even though she is using an alternate cost to pay for Collective Effort. Sram's Expertise will resolve in the order written, and the three tokens will have been created by the time she casts Collective Effort. 




Corner Case:  Arnold has an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in his exile zone as well as a Yixlid Jailer and a beast token on the battlefield.  Nathan processes the Emrakul with his Wasteland Strangler, targeting the beast token.  Does Emrakul's shuffle trigger work?  (Credit:  Mitchell Wetherson) 

Answer: Emrakul's ability will not trigger when Wasteland Strangler's ability moves Emrakul from exile to the graveyard.  Some kinds of triggered abilities, such as "leaves the battlefield" abilities, look back in time in the game to determine if they trigger, meaning that they trigger from the battlefield, and not from the graveyard.  This is an exception to the normal rules of Magic, where triggers typically trigger from the zone the card goes to.  Abilities like Emrakul's, however, which trigger when a creature enters the graveyard from anywhere, are never treated as "leaves the battlefield" abilities and are not an exception.  This means that Emrakul's trigger would trigger from the graveyard, but it cannot because Yixlid Jailer says that it doesn't have the ability in the graveyard. 


Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Week 1 Answers

Hello!  Here are the answers to the Week 1 questions!

Easy: Adric attacks Norman with his Heir of the Wilds, which is his only creature. Norman blocks with his 3/3 Beast token and his 1/1 Thopter token with Flying. Who chooses the damage assignment order, and when is that choice made? What are the legal ways that damage can be assigned?

Answer:  The damage assignment order for attacking creatures is always chosen by the active player as a turn based action immediately after blockers are declared in the declare blockers step.  This is not when amounts of damage are chosen, however, as that happens as damage is dealt in the Combat Damage step.  This means that Adric chooses the order of blockers.

In the combat damage step, Adric must assign at least lethal damage to the first blocker before assigning any damage to the next.  Since Heir of the Wilds does not have trample and was blocked, he cannot assign any damage to Norman.  Since Heir of the Wilds has deathtouch, any amount of damage dealt by him is lethal, so Adric may assign 1 or 2 damage to the first blocker, and if he chooses to assign only 1 damage, he must assign the other 1 damage to the second blocker.  If he assigns all damage to the first blocker, only that creature and Heir of the Wilds will die in combat.  If he assigns damage to both blockers, all 3 creatures will die.  


Hard: Adrianna controls Heliod, God of the Sun, and then later plays Starfield of Nyx. Her devotion to white is 3, and she controls 8 enchantments. Is Heliod a creature? If so, what is its power and toughness? 

Answer:  This is a layers question.  In the Type layer (3), we have 2 effects that impact Heliod's type.  We apply them in timestamp order, so first we apply Heliod's effect that says Heliod is not a creature.  Then we apply Starfield's ability, which says that Heliod, as an enchantment, is a creature.  The end result of this layer is that Heliod is a creature.  

Then, in the P/T setting layer (7b), Starfield's effect sets Heliod's power and toughness equal to its CMC, which in this case makes it a 4/4.

In the end, Heliod is a 4/4 enchantment creature.  


Corner Case: Anna is at 10 life and casts Madcap Experiment. The twelfth card revealed is a Platinum Emperion. Does Anna lose the game? If not, if Anna's opponent, Nancy, flashes in Gorehorn Minotaurs that turn, does she have Bloodthirst?

Answer:  Spells always resolve in order, so Anna first reveals cards until she hits Platinum Emperion and then puts it onto the battlefield and the rest of the cards on the bottom of the library.  Then Madcap Experiment deals damage to Anna equal to the the number of cards revealed, which is 12.  The damage is dealt, but Platinum Emperion says that Anna's life total cannot change, so the damage has no effect on her life total.  There was, however, damage dealt, so Nancy does have Bloodthirst for her Gorehorn Minotaurs.











Week 2 Questions

Hello again!  Welcome back for another week of questions!  Also this week, please welcome awesome collaborator on this blog, Jarrod Feight!  He's written some of this week's questions, and is in general super awesome!  Also of note, since I'm starting to get question submissions from others, if I know the source of the question I put up, and it is not me, I will credit the source when possible.

Easy:  Abby controls a 1/1 thopter token and no other artifacts. Nevin targets the thopter token with with Release the Gremlins (X=1). In response to Nevin’s Release the Gremlins, Abby casts Unlicensed Disintegration on her thopter token. Does Nevin create a gremlin token? How much damage does Abby take?  (credit:  Jarrod Feight)


Hard:  Allie casts Sram's Expertise, and would like to use the second part of Sram's Expertise to cast Collective Effort.  Can Allie escalate Collective Effort, and if so, can she tap the tokens from Sram's Expertise to do so?  (Credit:  Eric Dustin Brown)




Corner Case:  Arnold has an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in his exile zone as well as a Yixlid Jailer and a beast token on the battlefield.  Nathan processes the Emrakul with his Wasteland Strangler, targeting the beast token.  Does Emrakul's shuffle trigger work?  (Credit:  Mitchell Wetherson)  





Thursday, March 2, 2017

Week 1 Questions

Without further ado, here's the first week of questions!

If you have a question you'd like to see here, message me and let me know!

Easy:  Adric attacks Norman with his Heir of the Wilds, which is his only creature.  Norman blocks with his 3/3 Beast token and his 1/1 Thopter token with Flying.  Who chooses the damage assignment order, and when is that choice made?  What are the legal ways that damage can be assigned?



Hard:  Adrianna controls Heliod, God of the Sun, and then later plays Starfield of Nyx.  Her devotion to white is 3, and she controls 8 enchantments.  Is Heliod a creature?  If so, what is its power and toughness?



Corner Case:  Anna is at 10 life and casts Madcap Experiment.  The twelfth card revealed is a Platinum Emperion.  Does Anna lose the game?  If not, if Anna's opponent, Nancy, flashes in Gorehorn Minotaurs that turn, does she have Bloodthirst?



 


Welcome to Judge Quiz!

Hello!  Lately, I have received an outrageously high number of requests for judge questions of various levels.  I suppose word got out that I like to collect such things, and that's what happens.

So instead of individually writing zillions of questions out for people in messenger, I've decided to make a weekly (probably) blog to share questions.  Each week (ish), I'll post 3 questions.  One will be an easy question that an L1 could be expected to answer correctly.  One will be a somewhat harder question that I'd expect an L2 (or someone about to test for L2) to be able to answer, and one will be a corner case that really no one should be expected to answer, but that an L2 or L3 with the Comprehensive rules in front of them and infinite time would probably be able to answer eventually.  The following week, along with new questions, I'll include the answers to the previous questions.  Eventually, the goal is to have lots of questions for interested judges to answer, and I'll get practice explaining complicated things in the meantime.

Before everyone starts yelling at me for including corner cases, many people find them fun, and there is nothing wrong with that as long as people understand that there is no expectation that anyone else know the answers to these questions.

The first week of questions will follow shortly.

Enjoy!